Molecular Graphics and Modelling Society

Silver Jubilee Award

To support postdoctoral and young independent researchers, and to recognise our Silver Jubilee, MGMS has established a Silver Jubilee Prize. This is awarded to outstanding young researchers in the field.

10th MGMS Silver-Jubilee Award was won by:

David Glowacki
Dr David Glowacki
University of Bristol

The MGMS is delighted to award the 10th Silver Jubilee Prize to Dr David Glowacki. Dr Glowacki graduated from the University of Pennsylvania in 2003, but then moved to the UK, obtaining an MA from Manchester University in 2004 and a PhD in Physical Chemistry from the University of Leeds in 2008. He currently holds a Royal Society Research Fellowship at the University of Bristol and is a visiting scholar at Stanford University. Dr Glowacki's work embraces both the sciences and the arts, exploring the interface between the two in terms of human perception; he has published in the fields of dynamics and non-equilibrium system simulations, but also scientific visualisation and digital aesthetics. The award recognises his ongoing, interdisciplinary work.

Past Recipients

The ninth MGMS Silver Jubilee Prizes Awarded to Prof. Sereina Riniker , ETH Zürich, Switzerland
The eighth MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Awarded to Dr Peter Kolb, Philipps-University, Marburg, Germany
The seventh MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Awarded to Robert Paton, University of Oxford
The sixth MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Awarded to Lynn Kamerlin, Uppsala University
The fifth MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Awarded to Marcel Swart, Institut de Química Computacional, Universitat de Girona
The fourth MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Awarded to Andreas Bender, Unilever Centre for Molecular Informatics at the University of Cambridge
The third MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Awarded to Cherif Matta, Mount Saint Vincent University & Dalhousie University, Canada
The second MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Awarded to Graeme Day, University of Southampton.
The first MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Awarded to Nick Besley, University of Nottingham.

MGMS / Elsevier Graphics Award

We are pleased to announce the winner of the 2012 JMGM/MGMS Graphics Prize, co-sponsored by Elsevier and the Molecular Graphics and Modelling Society (MGMS), for the best piece of artwork in the annual volume. The primary criteria for the prize are the visual impact of the image and the scientific information that it conveys. The prize is judged by the two editors of the journal and a committee member of the MGMS.

2012 JMGM/MGMS Graphics Prize was awarded to:
Professor Andrew J. Hanson and Sidharth Thakur

School of Informatics and Computing, Indiana University
Renaissance Computing Institute, North Carolina, USA

for Figure 23 of his article entitled, "Quaternion Maps of Global Protein Structure" [Hanson, A.J. & Thakur, S. J. Mol. Graphics Mod., 38, 256-278 (2012)]

Past Winners

Volume 29 Dr Christian Kandt for Figure 1 in
Raunest M. & Kandt C. J. Mol. Graphics Mod., 29, 895-905 (2011)
Volume 28 Professor Steven Plotkin for Video provided as Supplementary Information in:
Abrahamsson E. & Plotkin, S.S. J. Mol. Graphics Mod., 28, 140-145 (2010).
Volume 27 Professor Bijaya Karki for Figure 16 in:
Bhattaraia, D. & Karki, B. B. J. Mol. Graphics Mod., 27, 951-968 (2009).

Molecular Graphics and Modelling Society, 2017
Contact the Webmaster