MGMS Frank Blaney Award

To support postdoctoral and young independent researchers, and to remember MGMS founder member Dr Frank Blaney, the MGMS has established the MGMS Frank Blaney Award (formerly the MGMS Silver Jubilee Award). This is awarded to outstanding young researchers in the field.

The first MGMS Frank Blaney Award has been awarded to to Dr Christopher Rowley, who is based in the Chemistry Department at Memorial University of Newfoundland, St John’s, Canada. His group uses computer simulations to study biophysical chemistry and other complex chemical processes.

The MGMS Committee sends its congratulations to Christopher!

The call for 2019 nominations can be downloaded here.


MGMS Silver Jubilee Award

The MGMS Silver Jubilee Award was renamed in 2018 to the MGMS Frank Blaney Award in memory of Dr Frank Blaney, a founder member of the MGMS.

10th MGMS Silver Jubilee Award was won by:

University of Bristol
10th MGMS Silver Jubilee Award tankard – David Glowacki

The MGMS is delighted to award the 10th MGMS Silver Jubilee Award to Dr David Glowacki. Dr Glowacki graduated from the University of Pennsylvania in 2003, but then moved to the UK, obtaining an MA from Manchester University in 2004 and a PhD in Physical Chemistry from the University of Leeds in 2008. He currently holds a Royal Society Research Fellowship at the University of Bristol and is a visiting scholar at Stanford University. Dr Glowacki’s work embraces both the sciences and the arts, exploring the interface between the two in terms of human perception; he has published in the fields of dynamics and non-equilibrium system simulations, but also scientific visualisation and digital aesthetics. The award recognises his ongoing, interdisciplinary work.

Past Recipients

10th MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Awarded to Dr David Glowacki, University of Bristol, UK.
9th MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Awarded to Prof. Sereina Riniker , ETH Zürich, Switzerland.
8th MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Awarded to Dr Peter Kolb, Philipps-University, Marburg, Germany.
7th MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Awarded to Robert Paton, University of Oxford, UK.
6th MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Awarded to Lynn Kamerlin, Uppsala University, UK.
5th MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Awarded to Marcel Swart, Institut de Química Computacional, Universitat de Girona, Spain.
4th MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Awarded to Andreas Bender, Unilever Centre for Molecular Informatics, University of Cambridge, UK.
3rd MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Awarded to Cherif Matta, Mount Saint Vincent University & Dalhousie University, Canada.
2nd MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Awarded to Graeme Day, University of Southampton, UK.
1st MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Awarded to Nick Besley, University of Nottingham, UK.

Jeffry D. Madura Memorial Graphics Prize

Graphics play an essential role in the articles that are published in the Journal of Molecular Graphics and Modelling, maybe even more than in other research journals. After a pause of some years we have decided to reinstate the yearly best graphic prize for JMGM. To honor our Editor, who unexpectedly passed away in 2017, the award is now called the Jeffry D. Madura Memorial Graphics Prize.

The current Editors, Dr Jamie Platts and Dr Emilio Esposito, have gone through the articles of 2018 and unanimously selected Figure 5 published in: Multiscale molecular dynamics simulations of lipid interactions with P-glycoprotein in a complex membrane, by Laura Domicevica, Heidi Koldsø and Philip C. Biggin (JMGM, Vol. 80, 2018, pp. 147-156) as the winning image:


Jeffry D. Madura Memorial Graphics Prize

Laura Domicevica, Heidi Koldsø and Philip C. Biggin

for Figure 5 in
Domicevica, L., Koldsø, H. and Biggin, P.C. (2018), “Multiscale molecular dynamics simulations of lipid interactions with P-glycoprotein in a complex membrane”, J. Mol. Graphics Mod. 80: 147-156.

The primary criteria for the prize are the visual impact of the image and the scientific information that it conveys. The prize is judged by the two editors of the journal and a committee member of the MGMS.

Past Winners



2012 JMGM/MGMS Graphics Prize

Professor Andrew J. Hanson and Sidharth Thakur

for Figure 23 in
Hanson, A.J. & Thakur, S. (2012). “Quaternion Maps of Global Protein Structure”, J. Mol. Graphics Mod.38: 256-278.

2011 JMGM/MGMS Graphics Prize Dr Christian Kandt for Figure 1 in
Raunest M. & Kandt C. (2011). “dxTuber: Detecting protein cavities, tunnels and clefts based on protein and solvent dynamics”, J. Mol. Graphics Mod.29: 895-905.
2010 JMGM/MGMS Graphics Prize Professor Steven Plotkin for Video provided as Supplementary Information in:
Abrahamsson E. & Plotkin, S.S. (2010). “BioVEC: A program for Biomolecule Visualization with Ellipsoidal Coarse-graining”, J. Mol. Graphics Mod.28: 140-145.
AVI Movie [14MB]
2011 JMGM/MGMS Graphics Prize Professor Bijaya Karki for Figure 16 in:
Bhattaraia, D. & Karki, B. B. (2009). “Atomistic visualization: Space–time multiresolution integration of data analysis and rendering”, J. Mol. Graphics Mod.27: 951-968.